Historical Knife Defence II and Dagger Fighting

Looks like I’m not the only one wondering about historical dagger work.

http://forums.swordforum.com/showthread.php?t=77155

It is a very interesting thread, and if my prior post on historical knife defence interested you, I strongly suggest you read the thread.

Whilst at the Dreynschlag event, I attended a lecture by Christoph Kaindel on “Old Style Knuckle Sandwich: The Art of Brawling in the late Middle Ages“. If memory serves me correctly, Christoph gave us some information on the context of a dagger fight in a Medieval setting. It would seem that in the escalation of a bar rumble between two people, the drawing of daggers could occur. This would be done in a way that the opponent saw. Why? Because this way the fight would be legal. I can’t remember the fine details, but it seemed that if both participants were aware their daggers involved and continued, then whoever got stabbed got what was coming to them. This could give a context to a stand-off with two daggers as seen in some historical manuals, as opposed to the modern shank in the back at the ATM.

As a side not, I forgot to mention how the historical masters also seem to think dagger fighting is very dangerous.

“I am the noble weapon that is called dagger and is of close play, I am moving and restless. And he who knows my malice and my art of very subtle fight will have a good part. And to end suddenly my fierce battle there is not a man that can go against me. … And against me neither arms nor armour are to be of value” – Fiore

“Now we take up the dagger. God preserve us all!” – Talhoffer

~ by Magnus on 9 April, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
